Rusty Antiques

New Shades!

I had bought and cleaned up old milk glass lamps (as you may recall from my post Rustic to Chic Lamps) but they did not come with lampshades and so I have been keeping my eyes open for nice black lampshades to finish off the lamps. This proved to be harder than I thought it would be and I could not find lampshades that were black and big enough for my lamps. I decided that I would widen my search by looking for cheap shades that were the same size and could be redone. I found two of these lampshades at a thrift store for $4 each and I said “hmmm I can work with that!” so I bought them and got workin!

ImageImage

This is what they looked like before I had my way with them….they are genuine floral! how fancy right :) I only get the best of  the best haha! Unfortunately I could not just  cover them with my cloth because the floral showed through so I had to cut the leaves and grass out.

Image

This is what it looked like without the grass and such.

To follow are the steps that you will need to take in order to take an old or plain lampshade and make it look updated and new!

Image

Step #1: Find a big piece of paper and trace the lampshade. To do this you will lay the lampshade on the paper and using a pencil you will trace the lampshade while rolling it over the paper. If your lamp shade is bigger at the bottom then the the top, then it should look something like this (below), otherwise if the top and bottom are the same size then it should be straight all the way accross.

Note: Make sure that you leave a little bit on the top and bottom so that the template is a bit bigger then the lampshade it self.

ImageImage

Step #2: Lay out the template over the fabric and cut out your fabric

Image

Step #3: You will want to iron your fabric so there are no creases

Image

Step #4: Make sure that your fabric fits over your shade.

Image

Step #5: Put a line of hot glue down so that your edge is secured to the lampshade.

ImageImage

Step #6: Then lay the other side overtop and turn the shade upside down. We are going to start working on the edges. If you have a lot of excess fabric, you can cut it off, but remember that you need enough to fold over the inside of the shade.

ImageImageImage

Step #7: Place a dab of hot glue on the inside of the shade and fold your fabric over on the glue. Now, work your way around the shade until all of the bottom of the fabric is secured to the shade.

Image

Step #8: Now you are going to take the other edge piece and fold it over and secure it in place with the glue so it looks like this.

Image

Step #9: Before you start gluing and folding the fabric over the top, you may have to make a few cuts like so to make them lay flat. If your shade is all one size, then you may be able to skip this step.

ImageImageImage

Step #10: Now you can do the same thing you did to the bottom of the shade. Put some dabs of hot glue on the inside of the top and fold over the fabric edge

Image

I am so glad that I finally have cute, black shades on my milk glass lamps that have been sitting naked in my dinning room for weeks!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “New Shades!

  1. Tucker58 on said:

    Cute, cute, cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

